Main
Registration
Login
Welcome Guest

RSS
 
[ New messages · Members · Forum rules · Search · RSS ]
Page 2 of 5«12345»
Forum » AT-43 Discussions » AT-43 - Rules, inHouse Rules & FAQs » AT-43 Q's, FAQ's & Rules (Questions, FAQ's & Rule Querys For AT-43!)
AT-43 Q's, FAQ's & Rules
zellakDate: Friday, 12-Aug-2011, 11:30 AM | Message # 21
Generalissimo
Group: Member
Messages: 1536
Reputation: 65
Status: Offline
It seems we played the capture of the civil engineer wrong....however what happened still stands....so no need to give him back.

Unless you want to ? wink

Operation Frostbite page 10 : New battle Objective.

The CE does not change ownership until the unit he is embedded with is destroyed.

I came across this while looking at the Serenity City sector objective.
It seems the Karman defenders will have to fire on Karl's escort in order to get control of him and win the scenario. ???

DEMON : " When next we meet, i shall tear you limb from limb...there will be no escape. "

Hero: " You bring balloon animals and i'll hire a clown..... we can make it a regular party. "
 
CheDate: Friday, 12-Aug-2011, 9:15 PM | Message # 22
Lieutenant general
Group: Member
Messages: 517
Reputation: 58
Status: Offline
We seem to be learning a lot more than we used to! surprised

Wargamers like to paint their privates!!
 
zellakDate: Friday, 12-Aug-2011, 10:09 PM | Message # 23
Generalissimo
Group: Member
Messages: 1536
Reputation: 65
Status: Offline
Quote (Che)
We seem to be learning a lot more than we used to!


We are using stuff we have never used before....ie. civil engineers. dry

This kind of thing will happen.

Also i said they counted as heroes. always the last to die. but although they are not in the book, i think it would be simpler if they were unkillable.

DEMON : " When next we meet, i shall tear you limb from limb...there will be no escape. "

Hero: " You bring balloon animals and i'll hire a clown..... we can make it a regular party. "
 
BalrogDate: Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 5:15 AM | Message # 24
Aun Va III
Group: Member
Messages: 667
Status: Offline
FB Rulebook - Page 10:
    A civil engineer who suffers an impact is immediately eliminated.
    No damage test is required. Nonetheless he can be
    saved using abilities that allow this (“Medic!”, and so on).
I'd rather keep the rules on Civ Eng as is. There pretty clear, so don't need any tweaking. Imagine u had a trooper with the "sniper" ability, u could target CE to remove him from ur opponents unit, so they lose the 50 RPs for hiding him at the back! But, if you want to capture him from an opponent, u need to be careful with any attacks on the unit he is attached too, in case he gets caught in the gunfire ... adds to the game dynamics. Making them last to die or unkillable removes the Rackham thinking on gameplay?

Just my usual squint on things ... no need to change rules that work! ... Walts
 
BalrogDate: Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 12:53 PM | Message # 25
Aun Va III
Group: Member
Messages: 667
Status: Offline
Hey Guys ... Working through some tactics and wondered on a new Q!

>>> Can Inf destroy a Strider/AFV in close combat?

Haven't really seen anything that says not, but I've a terrible habit of jumping backwards & forwards through the rules, so could have missed something.

Any advice appreciated! ... Walts
 
zellakDate: Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 1:39 PM | Message # 26
Generalissimo
Group: Member
Messages: 1536
Reputation: 65
Status: Offline
on the CE...if they are killable then how do they filter back into the campaign ?

Their replacements could turn up at the Starport ?

Roll a D6, for point V,W,X,Y,Z or in the middle of the Starport deployment zone (a 6) ?

Destroying AFV in close combat.

Not possible with a combat knife PEN 3 versus armour 14. Golgoth dry

The Therian Nanoblades PEN 7 versus Firetoad Armour 11 is possible....needing a 6 to score 1 damage.
Message edited by zellak - Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 1:40 PM

DEMON : " When next we meet, i shall tear you limb from limb...there will be no escape. "

Hero: " You bring balloon animals and i'll hire a clown..... we can make it a regular party. "
 
BalrogDate: Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 3:48 PM | Message # 27
Aun Va III
Group: Member
Messages: 667
Status: Offline
Quote (zellak)
Destroying AFV in close combat.

Not possible with a combat knife PEN 3 versus armour 14. Golgoth

The Therian Nanoblades PEN 7 versus Firetoad Armour 11 is possible....needing a 6 to score 1 damage.

That's what I orginally thought ... but, and it's the mother of all BUT's ...
    Rulebook - Page 71
    The action value of the attackers is the Accuracy of the weapon used.

    The difficulty is equal to the Defender’s Combat value. Each successful roll generates an impact. Each impact leads to a damage test (see Damage p. 51).
You don't count the defenders ARMOUR, you use their COMBAT value! In the Golgoth case, it's 6 ... so it's 3 minus 6 ... a -3 on the UtR ... so a 5 or 6 would cause a wound to the mighty Golgoth! It sounds incredible, but that's the rule!?

The beauty of this rule is that Striders/AFV need inf support in case a mad mob of Red Bloks decide to run all over an ONi battle tank!

I can hear the mighty Therians and their allies tremble at the sharpening of the Red Blok combat blades! ... Lt Valts
 
BalrogDate: Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 4:00 PM | Message # 28
Aun Va III
Group: Member
Messages: 667
Status: Offline
Quote (zellak)
on the CE...if they are killable then how do they filter back into the campaign ?

Their replacements could turn up at the Starport ?

Roll a D6, for point V,W,X,Y,Z or in the middle of the Starport deployment zone (a 6) ?

I would say keep things simple (just like me!) ... when their dead, their dead.

If you want to capture them, you've got to be smart and move in with blades to kill off the unit without inflicting wounds on the Civvy, else their wasted for all time ... it's sad, but that's the sad cruelty of war ... "why, why did she have to die ... It's war son, just war" .... Lt Valts
 
zellakDate: Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 4:30 PM | Message # 29
Generalissimo
Group: Member
Messages: 1536
Reputation: 65
Status: Offline
Quote (Balrog)
I can hear the mighty Therians and their allies tremble at the sharpening of the Red Blok combat blades! ... Lt Valts


Actually no...that would be a 5+ to hit the Golgoth with a combat knife. But to damage it would be a PEN 3 versus ARMOUR 14 as stated.

-11 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>so no chance of damage. happy

Quote (Balrog)
I would say keep things simple (just like me!) ... when their dead, their dead.


Sorry , dont agree. We have the miniatures so why not use them ! They add a splash of colour. tongue

And capturing them off each other would be fun. biggrin

DEMON : " When next we meet, i shall tear you limb from limb...there will be no escape. "

Hero: " You bring balloon animals and i'll hire a clown..... we can make it a regular party. "
 
BalrogDate: Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 7:23 PM | Message # 30
Aun Va III
Group: Member
Messages: 667
Status: Offline
Quote (zellak)
Quote (Balrog)
I can hear the mighty Therians and their allies tremble at the sharpening of the Red Blok combat blades! ... Lt Valts

Actually no...that would be a 5+ to hit the Golgoth with a combat knife. But to damage it would be a PEN 3 versus ARMOUR 14 as stated.

-11 >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>so no chance of damage.

Silly Valts ... forgot about the DAMAGE die rolls! ... duhhhh ... Think I'll be joining Comrade Che in the war hospital ... Nurseeeee, another one's escaped!
Quote (zellak)
Quote (Balrog)
I would say keep things simple (just like me!) ... when their dead, their dead.

Sorry , dont agree. We have the miniatures so why not use them ! They add a splash of colour.

And capturing them off each other would be fun.

That's true ... and they are pretty looking models too! Let's see what the other guys say ... I'm easy ether way ... BUT, as they might be lost on any battle field, lets use a grid for placing them back on the table as there's too few "Points" about ... here's an example ...



Say drop them in the center of the tile? ... Lt Valts (Putting his combat blade away with a sad face!)
 
CheDate: Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 9:03 PM | Message # 31
Lieutenant general
Group: Member
Messages: 517
Reputation: 58
Status: Offline
The CEs don't play any effective role in the game so I agree if they were immortal then it would add to the game. smile

Wargamers like to paint their privates!!
 
zellakDate: Monday, 15-Aug-2011, 8:42 PM | Message # 32
Generalissimo
Group: Member
Messages: 1536
Reputation: 65
Status: Offline
Quote (Che)
The CEs don't play any effective role in the game so I agree if they were immortal then it would add to the game.


Thankyou Che. happy

To Balrog : you know that was a picture of the Observation Post ....not the Tarmac Spaceport dont you ? dry

I meant next turn the CE replacement would arrive at the Spaceport....bright eyed and bushytailed, ready to photograph wildlife...only to find himself in a warzone. spiteful heh heh. fuck

He could then be captured by anyone with the cohones to capture him. cool

Added (15-Aug-2011, 8:42 PM)
---------------------------------------------
Combat/field engineers can blow up terrain elements.

a minefield is a 2d terrain element.

Can a combat/field engineer destroy a minefield.

Pros :1) they do in real life. 2) its a terrain element, so its fair game. 3) would add a new tactic.

Cons : 1) it does not directly say so in the rules . 2) ONI and Therians dont have engineers. sad (of either type)

Message edited by zellak - Saturday, 13-Aug-2011, 11:48 PM

DEMON : " When next we meet, i shall tear you limb from limb...there will be no escape. "

Hero: " You bring balloon animals and i'll hire a clown..... we can make it a regular party. "
 
BalrogDate: Tuesday, 16-Aug-2011, 6:20 AM | Message # 33
Aun Va III
Group: Member
Messages: 667
Status: Offline
FB Rules - Page 11:
    Minefield!”: Each field or combat engineer can lay a minefield at the end of its unit’s movement. The player puts a
    minefield card on the battlefield out of contact with any enemy miniature and within range 1 of the field/combat engineer.

    This card is a two dimensional terrain element.
You know, reading this rule again, I think your right about destroying minefields, why else would they list it as a terrain element!? I would be happy to say that Field/Combat engineer's using their "Sabotage" ability can destroy minefields if within the usual 2.5cm of the minefield element! ... Corp Valtz
 
CheDate: Tuesday, 16-Aug-2011, 7:30 PM | Message # 34
Lieutenant general
Group: Member
Messages: 517
Reputation: 58
Status: Offline
Quote (zellak)
Can a combat/field engineer destroy a minefield.


I think we sorted this on Sunday 14th. They can destroy minefields but they would have to avioid getting shot in the process. Unless the minefield is left unattended! wacko

Wargamers like to paint their privates!!
 
zellakDate: Thursday, 18-Aug-2011, 3:21 PM | Message # 35
Generalissimo
Group: Member
Messages: 1536
Reputation: 65
Status: Offline
I have a question.

Can you retreat units off the table (ie leaving by your access zone) ?

It does not say anything in the rules about leaving the battlefield....though i would guess that any unit that does cannot return.

DEMON : " When next we meet, i shall tear you limb from limb...there will be no escape. "

Hero: " You bring balloon animals and i'll hire a clown..... we can make it a regular party. "
 
BalrogDate: Thursday, 18-Aug-2011, 10:25 PM | Message # 36
Aun Va III
Group: Member
Messages: 667
Status: Offline
Hey Guys ... Back to the Field Engineers and "Minefields", and when they can lay them ...

    FB Rulebook - Page 11 ... “Minefield!”: Each field or combat engineer can lay a minefield at the end of its unit’s movement. The player puts a
    minefield card on the battlefield out of contact with any enemy miniature and within range 1 of the field/combat engineer. This
    card is a two dimensional terrain element.
... I don't think it matters when the Engineer lays the minefield, ether at the beginning or end of his movement? What do u think? ... Corp Valtz
 
BalrogDate: Thursday, 18-Aug-2011, 10:40 PM | Message # 37
Aun Va III
Group: Member
Messages: 667
Status: Offline
Quote (zellak)
I have a question.

Can you retreat units off the table (ie leaving by your access zone) ?

It does not say anything in the rules about leaving the battlefield....though i would guess that any unit that does cannot return.

IMHO ... Naaahhhhh

When the rules don't mention something, I'm always inclined to go with the thought that it can't be done, that's why there's no ref of it within the rules. Various rulebook pages say that if you "Retreat!", that company is eliminated, so, using this as a foundation rule, any unit or company leaving a battlefield is destroyed and lost forever.

Obviously, the AT-43 rules can be tweaked inhouse to make the gameplay more enjoyable, and would have been added too over a period by Rankham had they not gone bust, but allowing units to wander off/on the table would cause more problems than improve gameplay ... IMHO.

My two rubles worth ... Corp Valtz
 
zellakDate: Friday, 19-Aug-2011, 5:38 PM | Message # 38
Generalissimo
Group: Member
Messages: 1536
Reputation: 65
Status: Offline
The rulebook says when you call a Retreat, all the units on table are destroyed.

So if you were to pull some of them off-table you could save them.

Which is the reason for posting.

Quote (Balrog)
but allowing units to wander off/on the table would cause more problems than improve gameplay


I agree>>>>>>>>>>>>which is why i wrote.

Quote (zellak)
.....though i would guess that any unit that does cannot return.

Added (19-Aug-2011, 5:38 PM)
---------------------------------------------

Quote (Balrog)
Hey Guys ... Back to the Field Engineers and "Minefields", and when they can lay them ...

FB Rulebook - Page 11 ... “Minefield!”: Each field or combat engineer can lay a minefield at the end of its unit’s movement. The player puts a
minefield card on the battlefield out of contact with any enemy miniature and within range 1 of the field/combat engineer. This
card is a two dimensional terrain element.
... I don't think it matters when the Engineer lays the minefield, ether at the beginning or end of his movement? What do u think? ... Corp Valtz


Why do you want engineers to lay minefields at the start rather than the end of the move ?

DEMON : " When next we meet, i shall tear you limb from limb...there will be no escape. "

Hero: " You bring balloon animals and i'll hire a clown..... we can make it a regular party. "
 
BalrogDate: Friday, 19-Aug-2011, 6:02 PM | Message # 39
Aun Va III
Group: Member
Messages: 667
Status: Offline
Quote (zellak)
The rulebook says when you call a Retreat, all the units on table are destroyed.

So if you were to pull some of them off-table you could save them.

Aaahhhhhhhh, I see now what your asking ... "eyes wide open" ... so, yeah, that should be OK, but it is against the general rules of "Retreat!", which means units/company should be destroyed??? Mmmmmm, toughy that one ... not 100% sure on that ...

I guess you want this rule tweak so that any unit(s) with medals/special abilities they've won don't get lost by staying on the table as a lost cause, rather they should be able to beat a hasty retreat back to HQ without a loss? It's doesn't effect gameplay on the table, or the campaign, so yeah, I would be happy to have units leave the battlefield to save them, but if most/all of them left the battlefield, shouldn't that be a "Retreat!" call ... Mmmmmm, toughy that one ...

Let's see what the other chaps say ... Corp Valtz


= = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = =


Quote (zellak)
Why do you want engineers to lay minefields at the start rather than the end of the move ?

Well, so they can "run away, run away" after laying the minefield! It gives them a chance to seek cover once the minefields been laid ... does that make sense?

Corp Valtz
 
zellakDate: Saturday, 20-Aug-2011, 6:57 PM | Message # 40
Generalissimo
Group: Member
Messages: 1536
Reputation: 65
Status: Offline
Quote (Balrog)
Well, so they can "run away, run away" after laying the minefield! It gives them a chance to seek cover once the minefields been laid ... does that make sense?


Aye, so the unit could lay the minefield 20cm away (range 1) then run 20cm, putting 40cm between them and the minefield.

Rather than.... move 20cm and then place it within 20cm.

Right off the bat it looks okay...but wonder how it might affect some of the scenarios. mellow

DEMON : " When next we meet, i shall tear you limb from limb...there will be no escape. "

Hero: " You bring balloon animals and i'll hire a clown..... we can make it a regular party. "
 
Forum » AT-43 Discussions » AT-43 - Rules, inHouse Rules & FAQs » AT-43 Q's, FAQ's & Rules (Questions, FAQ's & Rule Querys For AT-43!)
Page 2 of 5«12345»
Search:

Copyright MyCorp © 2017